Course Structure

CFA preparation course is built around the CFA® Candidate Body of Knowledge and will cover a broad range of topics, such as statistical methods, economic analysis, and essential investment tools.


In the course you will have numerous problem solving sessions, practice exam questions and take a full practice exam with a follow-up review session to improve your exam taking skills.

 

CFA® Level 1 Preparation Course 

 

Course Calendar

 

Spring 2020 Semester
January - May
Start of studies : January 31, 2020
Language of instruction: English

 

CFA® Course Schedule

Date Time Topic Instructor
Class 1
Friday, January 31
18:00 - 21:00 2 – Quantitative methods Andrejs Koliškins, PhD
Class 2
Friday, February 7
18:00 - 21:00 2-3 – Quantitative methods  Andrejs Koliškins, PhD
Class 3
Friday, February 14
18:00 - 21:00 4 – Economics Andrejs Jakobsons, PhD cand.
Class 4
Friday, February 21
18:00 - 21:00 5 – Economics  Andrejs Jakobsons, PhD cand.
Class 5
Friday, February 28
18:00 - 21:00 6-7 – Financial statements Raivis Lucijanovs, MBA
Class 6
Friday, March 6
18:00 - 21:00 7-8 – Financial statements Raivis Lucijanovs, MBA
Class 7
Friday, March 13
18:00 - 21:00 8-9 – Financial statements Raivis Lucijanovs, MBA
Class 8
Friday, March 20
18:00-21:00 Midterm Exam Raimonds Lieksnis, PhD, Level II CFA Cand.
Class 9
Friday, March 27
18:00 - 21:00 10-11 – Corporate finance Raimonds Lieksnis, PhD, Level II CFA Cand.
Class 10
Friday, April 3
18:00 - 21:00 12 – Equity Investments Raimonds Lieksnis, PhD, Level II CFA Cand.
Class 11
Wednesday, April 8
18:00 - 21:00 13 – Equity Investments Raimonds Lieksnis, PhD, Level II CFA Cand.
Class 12
Friday, April 17
18:00 - 21:00 14 – Fixed income CFA qualified Faculty member will be confirmed
Class 13
Friday, April 24
18:00 - 21:00 15 – Fixed Income CFA qualified Faculty member will be confirmed
Class 14
Thursday, April 30
18:00 - 21:00
16 –Derivatives,
17 - Alternative Investments
CFA qualified Faculty member will be confirmed
Class 15
Friday, May 8
18:00 - 21:00 18-19 – Portfolio Management CFA qualified Faculty member will be confirmed
Class 16
Friday, May 15
18:00 - 19:30 1 - Ethics Raimonds Lieksnis, PhD, Level II CFA Cand.
Classes 16-17
Saturday, May 16

9:00-12:00 &
13:30-16:30

Final Exam Raimonds Lieksnis, PhD, Level II CFA Cand.
Class 19
Review Session for Official CFA Exam
Friday, May 22
18:00-19:30

Please come prepared to review your exam and to cover any outstanding questions you may still have.

Raimonds Lieksnis, PhD, Level II CFA Cand.

Please note that RBS keeps the right to revise the schedule. Instructor may lengthen a class to fully cover any material or any lingering questions

 

RBS Certificate Requirements

Program participants who meet all the course requirements will be issued a Riga Business School Financial Analyst Certificate.


Certficate Requirements:

  • 75% attendance in all classes (must attend at least 10 classes plus both exams)
  • 75% of homework assignments (must complete a minimum of 10 homework assignments)
  • 60% minimum average grade on all completed homework assignments
  • 60% minimum grade on final practice exam.